Gurjar Pratihar Dynasty Vansh- Rajasthan History Notes PDF

Gurjar Pratihar Dynasty Gurjar Pratihar Vansh- Rajasthan GK PDF. Gurjar Pratihar ka sampurn itihas. Who were the Gurjara Pratiharas, how did they originate? Where did the Gurjara Pratiharas rule? What is the theory of origin of Pratihara dynasty? All these questions will be answered in this article. Mihirbhoj gurjar pratihaar vansh Rajasthan.

gurjar pratihar dynasty
gurjar pratihar dynasty

Origin of Gurjar Pratihar Dynasty Gurjar Pratiharon Ki Utpatti ka Sidhant

The Pratihara dynasty was established in the Gurjaratra region in the south-west of Rajasthan. They trace their origin to Lakshmana. Lakshmana was the Pratihara (gatekeeper) of Rama. Hence this dynasty came to be known as Pratihara dynasty. Due to being related to the branch of Gurjars, Gurjar is called Pratihara in history. In the Aihole inscription of the Chalukya king Pulakesian II of Badami, the Gurjar caste is mentioned in the epigraphic form for the first time.

According to the famous historian Ramesh Chandra Majumdar, the Gurjara Pratiharas acted as a deterrent to the Arab invaders from the sixth century to the twelfth century and played the role of the gatekeeper (Pratihara) of India.

In Nilkund, Radhanpur, Deoli and Kardah inscriptions, the Pratiharas have been called Gurjars. Arab travelers wrote him ‘Jurj’. Alamsudi calls Gurjar Pratihara as ‘Al Gujar’ and Raja as Bohra which is probably a pure pronunciation of Adivaraha.

When Chinese traveler Hiuen Tsang came to Bhinmal, he described it as Ku-che-lo (Gurjar) in the description of his 72 countries and named his capital as ‘Pilomolo / Bhilamal’ i.e. Bhinmal. According to some historians, the Gurjara Pratihars had established their
Power started. The Jodhpur and Ghatiala inscriptions of the Pratihara kings reveal that the original abode of the Gurjara Pratiharas
It was Gurjaratra. According to H.C. Ray, the initial center of their power was Mandvaipura (Mandore). But most historians consider Avanti or Ujjain to be the initial center of their power. Apart from this, the Jain text Harivansh and the Sanjan copper plate of Rashtrakuta king Amoghavarsha, Nainasi have described 26 branches of Gurjara Pratihars.

Mandor Ke Pratihar – Gurjar Pratihar Vansh

This branch was the most ancient and important among the 26 branches of Gurjara-Pratiharas. According to Jodhpur and Ghatiala inscriptions. A Brahmin named Harishchandra had two wives. One Brahmin and the other Kshatrani Bhadra. The four sons of Kshatrani Bhadra, Bhogbhatta, Kadak, Rajjil and Dah together established the Gurjara Pratihara dynasty by conquering Mandaur. The lineage of Mandaur starts from this even though Rajjil is the third son.


Shiluk, the tenth ruler of this dynasty, defeated Bhati Devraj, the ruler of Valla country. He had two sons named Bauk from Maharani Padmini of Bhati dynasty and Kakkuk from second queen Ralabadevi.

Also Read: Source To Know Rajasthan History, Shilalekh, Abhilekh


Bouk had written a description of his lineage in the Jodhpur Prashasti of 837 AD and got it established in a Vishnu temple in Mandore.


Kakkuk got two inscriptions engraved which is famous as Ghatiyala’s inscription. Jayastambha in Ghatiyala and Mandaur by him. were established.

Gurjar-Pratihar of Jalore, Ujjain and Kannauj – Gurjar pratihar Vansh

Also Read: Rajasthan State Identification | Symbols | State Animal | Tree | Bird | Dance

Nagabhatta I (730-760 AD)

Gurjar Pratihar Vansh ruler Nagabhatta I captured Bhinmal in the eighth century and made it his capital. Later he took Ujjain under his control and Ujjain became the main center of his power. He was a very majestic ruler, his court was called ‘Durbar of Nagavaloka’. In which all the Rajput clans of that time (Guhil, Chauhan, Parmar, Rathor, Chandel, Chalukya, Kalchuri) were his court feudatories.

During his time, the Bilochs attacked from Sindh and the Arabs from Arabia. Nagabhatta did not allow them to enter his limits, due to which his fame increased greatly. He has been called ‘Narayan’ and ‘Destroyer of Mlechchas’ in Gwalior Prashasti. The Mlechchas belonged to Arabs who wanted to establish their power in other parts of India after taking over Sindh. Nagabhatta I was succeeded by Kukkuk and Devraj, but their reign was not significant. Nagabhatta is called a Kshatriya Brahmin. Therefore this branch is also called Raghuvanshi Pratihara.

Vatsaraja (783- 785 AD)

After the death of Devraj, his son Vatsaraja became the next majestic ruler. He defeated the Bhandi dynasty and also defeated the Pala ruler of Bengal, Dharmapala.

Nagabhatta II was born to Sunderdevi, the queen of Vatsaraj. Those who are also called Nagavaloka. During his time Udayotan Suri composed ‘Kuvalayamala’ and Jain Acharya Jinsen composed ‘Harivansh Purana’. Vatsaraja got the temples of Ausian built. Ausian is famous for Surya and Jain temples. During this time Udyotan Suri composed “Kuvalayamala” in Jalore in 778. The temples of Ausian are built in the Mahamaru style. But the Harihar temple of Ausian is built in Panchayatan style. Ausian was the main center of Pratiharas in Rajasthan. The temples of Ausinya (Jodhpur) are of Pratihara period.

Ausian is known as Bhubaneshwar in Rajasthan. In Ausia there is a temple of Ausia Mata or Sachiya Mata (Goddess of Oswal Jains) with an idol of Mahisasur Mardini.

Nagabhatta II (795-833 AD)

Nagabhatta II was the successor of Vatsaraja. He was called ‘Parambhattaraka Maharajadhiraj Parmeshwar’ in the inscription in 816 AD. According to Chandraprabha Suri’s book Prabhak Charit, Nagabhatta II committed suicide by drowning in the Ganges in 833 AD. After Nagabhatta, his son Rambhadra took over the rule in 833 AD, but no remarkable work was done during his short reign (3 years).

Mihir Bhoja I (836-885 AD)

Mihirbhoj I was an important ruler of this dynasty. He was the son of Rambhadra. Mihir Bhoja was a follower of Vaishno religion. Their first inscription is the Varaha inscription whose date is 893 Vikram Samvat (836 AD). The Arab traveler ‘Sulaiman’, during his visit to India at the time of Mihirbhoj, described Mihirbhoja as the most powerful ruler of India. Who stopped the Arabs. The administration of Mihirbhoj has also been praised in the Kashmiri poet Kalhan’s ‘Rajatarangini’.

Mihirbhoja conquered the Rashtrakutas and occupied Ujjain. At this time, the Rashtrakuta dynasty was ruled by Krishna II. His title Adivaraha is found in Gwalior inscription. At the same time, Daulatpur inscription calls him Prabhas. The silver and copper coins prevalent during his time had ‘Srimadadivarah’ inscribed on them. According to the Skandha Purana, Mihirbhoja renounced the throne by handing over the kingdom to his son Mahendrapala to undertake the pilgrimage.

Mahendrapala I (885-910 AD)

His guru and dependent poet was Rajasekhar. Rajasekhara composed Karpoormanjari, Kavyamimamsa, Vidhasalabhanjika, Balbharat, Balaramayana, Harvilasa and Bhuvankosh. He has called Mahendra Pal as Raghukul Chadamani, Nirbhay Naresh, Nirbhay Narendra in his texts. He had two sons, Bhoja II and Mahipala I. Bhoj II ruled till (910-913 AD).

Mahipala I (914-943 AD)

By the time Mahipala took over, the Rashtrakuta ruler Indra III destroyed Kanauj by defeating the Pratiharas. gurjar pratihar dynasty rajasthan history Rajasekhar also stayed in the court of Mahipala. Rajashekhar called him ‘Maharajadhiraj of Aryavarta’ and called him ‘Raghukul Mukutmani’. During his time the Arab traveler ‘Alamsudi’ traveled to India.

Rajya Pal

In 1018 AD, Muhammad Ghaznavi attacked the Pratihar king governor, around 1039 AD, Chandradev Gahadwal snatched Kannauj from the Pratihars and ended their existence.

Note: Friends, we have given information related to Gujjar Pratihar dynasty of Rajasthan history, if you find any error or content less, then please give your suggestions by email or comment to us.

Read More…………

Leave a Reply